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DEPARTMENT OF STATE POLICE 
 

MICHIGAN COMMISSION ON LAW ENFORCEMENT STANDARDS 
 

PUBLIC SAFETY OFFICERS BENEFIT PROGRAM 
 
 
(By authority  conferred  on  the  Michigan  Commission  on  Law  Enforcement 

Standards by section 3 of 2004 PA 46 and by section 9 of  1965  PA  380,  MCL 28.633 
and 16.109) 

 
 
R 28.14951   Definitions. 
Rule 1. (1)  As used in these rules: 
  (a) "Act" means the public safety officers  benefit  act,  2004   PA    46, MCL 28.631 

et seq. 
  (b)  "Catastrophic  injury"  means  consequences  of   an    injury    that permanently 

prevent an individual from performing any gainful work. 
  (c) "Child" means any natural, illegitimate, adopted, or  posthumous  child or 

stepchild of a deceased public safety officer, who at the  time   of   the public safety 
officer's death was any of the following: 

  (i) Eighteen years of age or under. 
  (ii) Over 18 years of age and a student. 
  (iii) Over 18 years of age  and  incapable  of  self-support   because   of physical or 

mental disability. 
  (d) "Dependent" means a child of the deceased public  safety   officer   or other 

individual who was substantially reliant for support upon  the   income of  the deceased 
public safety officer. 

  (e) "Gainful work" means  work  activity  that  is  both  substantial  work activity 
and gainful work activity. 

  (f) "Gainful work activity" means work activity  that  is  done   for   pay or profit. 
Work activity is gainful if it is the kind of work  usually   done for pay or profit, whether 
or not a profit is realized or pay is received. 

  (g)  "Incapable  of  self-support  because   of    physical    or    mental disability" 
means the individual was receiving supplemental  security  income benefits from the 
United States social security administration at  the   time of  the  public safety officer's 
death. 

  (h) "Occupational disease" means a  disease  which  routinely   constitutes a special 
hazard in, or  is  commonly  regarded  as,  a  concomitant  of  the officer's occupation. 

  (i) "Personal injury" or "injury" means any traumatic  injury,   as   well as diseases 
which are caused by or result from such an injury, heart  attack, or stroke, but not an 
occupational disease. 

  (j) "Student" means an  individual  under  23  years  of  age,   who    has not 
completed 4 years of education beyond  the  high  school  level  and  who is regularly 
pursuing a full-time course of  study  or  training  at  school or college or university  
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accredited   by a Michigan    recognized or nationally recognized accrediting agency or 
body. 

  (k) "Substantial work activity"  means  work   activity    that    involves doing 
significant physical or mental activities.  Work may   be   substantial even  if it is done on 
a part-time basis or if the public   safety    officer does  less, gets paid less, or has less 
responsibility than when  he  or  she was  a  member of the former employing public 
safety agency. 

  (l) "Substantially reliant" means the dependent was reliant on  the  income of the 
deceased officer for over 1/3 of his or her support. 

  (m) "Traumatic injury" means a wound or a condition of  the   body   caused by 
external force, including injuries inflicted by    bullets,    explosives, sharp instruments, 
blunt  objects  or  other  physical   blows,    chemicals, electricity, climatic  conditions,  
infectious  diseases,   radiation,    and bacteria,  but excluding stress and strain. 

  (2) Terms defined in the act have the same meanings when  used   in   these rules. 
 
  History: 2005 AACS. 
 
 
R 28.14952   Claim; forms; deadline. 
Rule 2. (1)  Claims for benefits under the act shall be submitted  on   the form or in 

the manner prescribed by the commission.  A claim  for  a  benefit resulting from the 
death of a public safety officer shall be filed  within  1 year after the date of death.  A 
death benefit may be denied  for  inactivity  

on the claim, if requested documentation is not provided to the commission by the 
claimant within a period of 1 year following the  initial  request.   For good cause, the 
executive director may grant  1  3-month  extension  of  this deadline. 

  (2) A claim by a permanently and totally disabled public safety officer  or on behalf 
of  a survivor of a deceased public  safety  officer    shall    be filed within  1  year  after  
the  date   of    death     or     prerequisite disability certification, unless the time  for  
filing  is  extended  by  the executive director for  good  cause. The  withdrawal  of  a   
claim,   the cancellation  of  a request for withdrawal, or any  notice  provided  for  in 
these rules,  shall  be in writing and shall  be  signed  by   the   claimant or  the  person 
legally designated to execute a claim. 

  (3) A prerequisite certification means either of the following: 
  (i) The employing agency's official, certified  award  to the claimant public safety 

officer of its maximum disability finding and compensation, including the  officer's  
permanent  and  complete  separation    from    the employing  public safety agency as the 
direct result of an injury in the line of duty. 

  (ii)If the employing agency  does  not  itself   make    such    disability awards, then 
an official  certified  award  to  the  claimant  public  safety officer by the cognizant 
judicial, political,  or  administrative  agency  or body  of  its maximum  disability  
finding   and   compensation,   including the   officer's permanent and complete 
separation from the  employing  public safety agency  as the direct result of an injury 
sustained  in  the  line  of duty. 

  (4)The acceptability of the declaration of an award in subrule (3) of this rule shall be 
the  determination  of  the  commission. The  commission may require any of the 
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following before making a final determination  on  a claim by a permanently and totally 
disabled public safety officer: 

  (i) Further  investigation of the claim. 
  (ii) Additional documentation. 
  (iii) Additional opinions. 
 
  History: 2005 AACS. 
 
 
R 28.14953   Persons executing claims. 
Rule 3 (1)  The commission shall determine who  is  the  proper  party   to execute a 

claim as follows: 
  (a) The claim shall be executed by  the  claimant   or    the    claimant's legally  

designated   representative   if   the    claimant    is    mentally competent   and physically 
able to execute the claim. 

  (b) If the claimant is mentally  incompetent  or  physically   unable    to  
execute the claim and is either of the following: 
  (i)  Has  a  legally  appointed   guardian,     committee,     or     other representative, 

then the claim  may   be   executed   by    such    guardian, committee,  or  other 
representative. 

  (ii)Is in the care of an institution, then the claim may be   executed   by the manager 
or principal officer of such institution. 

  (2) For good cause, such as the age or prolonged absence of the   claimant, the 
commission may accept a claim executed by a person other than 1 described in subrule 
(1) of this rule. 

  (3) Where the claim is executed by a person  other  than   the    claimant, the person 
shall, at the time of filing the claim or  within   a   reasonable time thereafter, file 
evidence of the person's  authority  to   execute   the claim  on behalf of the claimant in 
accordance with the following: 

  (a) If the  person  executing  the   claim   is    the    legally-appointed guardian, 
committee, or other  legally-designated  representative   of    the claimant,  the evidence  
shall  be  a  certificate  executed  by  the  proper official of the  court of appointment. 

  (b) If  the   person   executing   the   claim   is    not    a     legally designated 
representative, then  the  evidence   shall   be    a    statement describing  the person's 
relationship to the claimant or the extent to  which the  person  has the care of the 
claimant or the  person's  position  as   an officer  of  the institution of which the claimant 
is an inmate or  patient.The  commission may, at any time, require additional evidence  to  
establish the  authority  of the person to file or withdraw a claim. 

 
  History: 2005 AACS. 
 
 
R 28.14954   Reasonable doubt of coverage. 
Rule 4 (1)  The commission shall resolve any reasonable doubt arising  from the 

circumstances of the officer's death or permanent and total disability in favor of payment 
of the death or disability benefit. 
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  (2) At all times  practicable,  the  commission  shall  promptly  pay   the claimant an 
interim benefit of $3,000, upon a request demonstrating need. 

 
  History: 2005 AACS. 
 
 
R 28.14955   Evidence. 
Rule 5 (1)  A claimant for a benefit under the act shall  submit   evidence of eligibility 

or other material facts as  specified  in  these  rules.   The commission may require at any 
time additional evidence to be  submitted  with regard to entitlement, the right to receive 
payment, the amount to  be  paid,  

or any other material issue. 
  (2) If a claimant for a benefit under the act  and  these  rules  has   not submitted 

evidence or has submitted insufficient  evidence  of  any  material issue or fact, then the 
commission shall inform the claimant what evidence is necessary for a determination  
and  shall  request  the  claimant  to  submit evidence within a  specified  reasonable  
amount  of  time.   The  claimant's failure to submit evidence on a material issue or fact as  
requested  by  the commission shall be a basis  for  determining  that  the  claimant  fails  
to satisfy the conditions required to award a benefit. 

  (3) If a copy of a record, document, or other evidence, or an  excerpt   of 
information, is acceptable as evidence in lieu of the original, then the copy or excerpt 
shall be certified as a true and exact  copy  or  excerpt  by  the official custodian of the 
record, or  other  public  official  authorized  to certify the copy. 

 
  History: 2005 AACS. 
 
 
R 28.14956   Findings of state, local, and federal agencies; determination. 
Rule 6 (1) The commission shall give substantial weight  to  the   evidence and 

findings of fact  from  state,  local,  and  federal  administrative  and investigative 
agencies.  The commission shall request  additional  assistance or conduct its own 
investigation when it believes that the existing  evidence does not provide the 
commission with a rational basis for  a  decision  on  a material element of eligibility. 

  (2) If an investigation of  a  claim  does  not  result  in  a   conclusive eligibility 
determination, then the commission may wait for and rely upon the eligibility 
determination of the United States department of justice  on  the claimant's federal 
application under 42 U.S.C. § 3796 and 28 C.F.R. § 32.1 to §32.24 

 
  History: 2005 AACS. 
 
 
R 28.14957   Heart attack or stroke. 
Rule 7 (1) If a public safety officer dies as  the  direct  and   proximate result of a 

heart attack or stroke, the officer shall  be  presumed  to  have died as the direct and 
proximate result of a personal injury sustained in the line of duty, if the following apply: 

  (a) The officer, while on duty, did either of the following: 
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  (i) Engaged in a situation   involving   nonroutine    stressful    or strenuous physical  
law  enforcement, fire  suppression,  rescue,  hazardous material response, emergency 
medical services, prison  security, disaster relief,  or other emergency response activity. 

  (ii) Participated  in  a  training  exercise  that   involved    nonroutine stressful or 
strenuous physical activity. 

  (b) The officer died as a result of a heart attack or stroke suffered in  1 of the 
following time frames related to an activity  described   in   subrule  

(1)(a) of this rule: 
  (i) While engaging or participating in the activity. 
  (ii) While still on duty after engaging or participating in the activity. 
  (iii) Not more than  24  hours  after  engaging  or  participating  in  the activity. 
  (2) For purposes of  this  rule,  nonroutine   stressful    or    strenuous physical  

activity  excludes  actions  of  a  clerical,  administrative,   or nonmanual nature. 
  (3) The presumption in  subrule  (1)  of  this  rule  shall   be   overcome by 

competent medical evidence to the contrary. 
 
  History: 2005 AACS. 
 
 
R 28.14958   Death or permanent and total disability; intent. 
Rule 8.  The commission shall consider at  least  all  of   the   following factors in 

determining whether  the  officer  intended  to  bring  about  the officer's own death or 
injury: 

  (a) Whether the death  or  permanent  and  total  disability   was   caused by insanity, 
through an uncontrollable impulse or without conscious  volition to produce death or 
injury. 

  (b) Whether the officer had a  prior  history  of  attempted   suicide   or attempts to 
cause physical incapacitation. 

  (c) Whether the officer's intent to bring about his  or  her    death    or injury was a 
substantial factor in  the  officer's  death  or  permanent  and total disability. 

  (d) The existence  of  an  intervening  force  or  action    which    would have 
independently caused the officer's  death  or  permanent    and    total disability and which 
would not otherwise prohibit payment of a benefit  under the act. 

 
  History: 2005 AACS. 
 
 
R 28.14959   Voluntary intoxication. 
Rule 9  The commission shall apply the following  evidentiary  factors   in cases in 

which voluntary intoxication is at issue in an  officer's  death  or permanent and total 
disability. 

  (a) The primary factor in determining intoxication  at   the    time    the injury 
occurred, from which death or permanent and total disability resulted, is the blood 
alcohol level, including a postmortem blood alcohol   level   in the  case of a death. 

  (b) A benefit shall be denied  if   a   deceased   or    permanently    and totally 
disabled public safety officer had a blood alcohol level   of    0.04 grams  or more per 100 
milliliters of blood, per  210  liters   of    breath, or  per  67 milliliters  of  urine  while  on  
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duty,  unless  the  commission receives convincing evidence that the provisions of 
subrule (c) of this  rule apply. 

  (c) If the  intoxicant  was  taken  as  a   requirement   of    the    duty assignment, 
benefits shall be denied  if  the  deceased  or  permanently  and totally  disabled public 
safety officer had a blood  alcohol  level  of  0.08 grams or more per 100 milliliters of 
blood, per 210 liters of   breath,    or per  67  milliliters  of urine. 

  (d) If a public safety officer with a blood alcohol level dies as a  result of heart 
attack or a stroke suffered after going off duty, as  provided    in Rule 28.14957,  then the 
commission may award  a  benefit  if  the  following apply: 

  (i) Clear and convincing  evidence  is  presented  that   the    intoxicant was 
consumed after going off duty. 

  (ii)Medical evidence indicates that the intoxicant did  not  contribute  to the heart 
attack or stroke. 

 
  History: 2005 AACS. 
 
 
R 28.14960   Relationship of spouse; determination. 
Rule 10. (1)  Marriage shall be established by 1 or more of the   following types of 

evidence in the following order of preference: 
  (a) A copy of the public record of marriage, certified or attested,  or  by an abstract 

of the public record, containing sufficient  data   to   identify the parties, the date and  
place  of  the  marriage,  and  the   number    of prior marriages by either party if shown 
on the  official   record,    issued by  the officer having custody of  the  record  or  other   
public   official authorized  to certify the record, or  a  certified  copy  of  the  religious 
record of marriage. 

  (b) An official report from a public  agency  as  to  a   marriage    which occurred 
while the officer was employed with the agency. 

  (c) An affidavit of the clergyman or magistrate who officiated. 
  (d) An  original  certificate  of  marriage  accompanied   by   proof    of its 

genuineness and the authority of the person to perform the marriage. 
  (e) Affidavits or sworn  statements  of  2  or  more  eyewitnesses  to  the ceremony. 
  (f) In the case of the death of a Michigan public safety officer  who   had a "common  

law"  marriage from  a  state  where  "common   law"    marriages are recognized, the 
spouse may submit an  affidavit  or certified  statement setting forth all of the  facts  and  
circumstances  concerning  the  alleged marriage, the as the agreement between the 
parties at the beginning of  their cohabitation, the period of cohabitation, places  and  
dates  of  residences, and  whether children were born as the result  of  the  relationship.  
This  

evidence  may  be supplemented by affidavits or certified statements  from  2 or more 
persons who know as the result of personal observation  the   reputed relationship  which 
existed between the  parties  to  the  alleged  marriage, including the period  of 
cohabitation,  places  of  residences,  whether  the parties held  themselves  out as 
husband and  wife,  and  whether  they  were generally accepted as the  in  the 
communities in which they lived. 

  (g) Any other evidence  which  would  reasonably  support  a   belief    by the 
commission that a valid marriage actually existed. 
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  (2) The commission shall not recognize a claimant  as  a    "common    law" spouse 
under  R 28.14960(1)(f)  unless  the  previous  state   of   domicile recognized  him or her 
as the spouse of the deceased  or   permanently    and totally  disabled officer. 

  (3) If applicable,  certified  copies  of  divorce  decrees   of   previous marriages or 
death certificates  of  the  former  spouses  of  either   party shall  be submitted. 

 
  History: 2005 AACS. 
 
 
R 28.14961   Relationship of child; determination. 
Rule 11. (1)  In general, a claimant is  the  child  of  a  public   safety officer if the 

individual's  birth  certificate  shows  the  officer  as  the individual's parent. 
  (2) If the birth certificate does not show the public safety  officer    as the claimant's 

parent, then the  sufficiency  of  the  evidence   shall    be determined in accordance with 
the facts of a particular case.  Proof  of  the relationship may consist of the following: 

  (a) An acknowledgement in writing signed by the public safety officer. 
  (b) Evidence that the officer has been identified as the child's parent  by a judicial 

decree ordering the officer to contribute to the  child's  support or for other purposes. 
  (c)  Any  other  evidence  which  reasonably  supports  a  finding   of   a parent-child 

relationship, such as any of the following: 
  (i) A certified copy of the public record of   birth   or    a    religious record showing 

that the officer was the informant and was named as the parent of the child. 
  (ii) Affidavits or sworn statements of  persons   who   know    that    the officer 

accepted the child as his or her own. 
  (iii)Information obtained from a public agency or public   records,    such as school 

or welfare agencies, which shows that with the officer's knowledge the officer was named 
as the parent of the child. 

  (3) Except as may be provided in subrule (2) of this rule,   evidence    of the 
relationship shall be shown by a certified copy of the decree of adoption and other 
evidence as may be necessary.  In jurisdictions where  a   petition must  be  made  to  the  
court  for  release  of  adoption    documents    or information,  or where the  release  of  
such  documents  or  information  is prohibited,  a  revised birth certificate shall be  
sufficient  to  establish the fact of adoption. 

  (4) The relationship of a stepchild  to  the  deceased   officer   shall be demonstrated 
by all of the following: 

  (a) Evidence of the existence of a parent-child   relationship    between the child and 
the spouse, which may be evidenced by any of the following: 

  (i) Evidence of birth to the spouse of  the  officer  as    required    by subrules 
  (1) and (2) of this rule. 
  (ii) If adopted by the spouse, evidence of  adoption  as    required    by subrule 
  (3) of this rule. 
  (iii)Other evidence, such as that specified in  subrule (2) of    this rule, which 

reasonably supports   the   existence of  a parent-child relationship between the child and 
the spouse. 

  (b) Evidence that the stepchild was any of the following: 
  (i) Living with the officer at the time of the officer's death. 
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  (ii)Dependent for support on the officer  at  the  time  of  the  officer's death, as set 
forth in R 28.14962. 

  (iii) In a parent-child relationship, as specified in  subrule (2) of this rule, with the 
officer at the time of the officer's death. 

  (iv) Evidence of the marriage of the officer and the spouse,  as   required by R 
28.14960. 

 
  History: 2005 AACS. 
 
 
R 28.14962   Determination of dependency. 
Rule 12. (1)  To be eligible for  a  death  benefit  under  the   act,    a stepchild not 

living with the deceased officer at the time of the   officer's death  or other dependent 
individual shall demonstrate that  he  or  she  was substantially reliant for support upon 
the income of the officer. 

  (2)  The  claimant  stepchild  or  other   dependent    individual    shall demonstrate 
that he or she was dependent upon the decedent at   either    the time  of  the officer's 
death  or  at  the  time  of  the   personal   injury that  was  the substantial factor in the 
officer's death. 

  (3)  The  claimant  stepchild  or  other   dependent    individual    shall demonstrate 
dependency by submitting a signed statement of dependency  within a  year  of the 
officer's death. This  statement  shall  include    all    of the  following information: 

  (a) A list of all sources of  income  or  support  for  the    12    months preceding the 
officer's injury or death; 

  (b) The amount of income or value  of  support  derived  from  each  source listed. 
  (c) The nature of support provided by each source. 
  (4) Generally, the  commission  shall  consider  a  stepchild   or    other dependent 

individual to be "dependent" if he or  she  was  reliant   on   the income  of  the deceased 
officer for over 1/3 of his or her support. 

 
  History: 2005 AACS. 
 
 
R 28.14963   Representation. 
Rule 13.  A claimant may be  represented  in  any  proceeding  before   the 

commission by an attorney or other person authorized to act on behalf of  the claimant 
pursuant to R 28.14953.  A contract for a stipulated fee  or  for  a fee on a contingent 
basis shall not be recognized. An agreement  between  a representative and a claimant in 
violation of this rule is void. 

 
  History: 2005 AACS. 
 
 
R 28.14964   Finding of eligibility or ineligibility; notice to legislature. 
Rule 14. (1)  Upon making a finding of eligibility, the  commission   shall notify each 

claimant of its disposition of his or her claim.  In those  cases where the commission has 
found the claimant to be ineligible for  a  benefit, the commission shall specify the 
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reasons for the finding.  The finding  shall set forth the  findings  of  fact  and  
conclusions  of  law  supporting  the decision.  A copy of the decision, together with 
information as to the  right to a hearing and review, shall be mailed to the claimant at his 
or  her  last known address. 

  (2) The commission shall pay eligible claimants in the  order   in    which all 
necessary documentation is received and the investigation  of  the  claim is concluded. 

  (3) The commission shall notify the  legislature  of  an   unfunded   claim or claims, 
if during a fiscal year, there is 1 or more eligible  claimant  to whom the commission is  
unable   to   pay   a   benefit   because    of    an insufficient appropriation. 

 
  History: 2005 AACS. 
 
 
R 28.14965   Rescinded. 
 
  History: 2005 AACS; 2013 AACS. 
 
 
R 28.14966   Payment of benefits; limitations. 
Rule 16. (1)  As provided in the act, payment of benefits is subject to appropriation by 

the legislature of money necessary to make the payment. 
  (2) Claims for benefits shall be  paid  in  the  order  in which    the commission 

determines the eligibility of the claims. 
  (3) If the number of eligible claims exceeds the appropriated  funds,  then the unpaid 

eligible claims shall be paid  when  funds  are  appropriated   by the legislature. 
 
  History: 2005 AACS. 


